Thursday, 18 August 2016

Review: My Husband's Wife by Jane Corry

My Husband's Wife by Jane Corry
Publisher: Penguin UK
Release date: 25 August 2016
Rating: *****
Back cover blurb: 'A dark and gripping thriller that vibrates with tension...a must-read for thriller lovers' Kate Furnivall 'A rollercoaster of suspense and intrigue...' Rosanna Ley It's the perfect love story. Lily meets Ed at a party, and on their second date, he proposes. She's a lawyer, he's an up-and-coming artist. They own a small but beautiful flat in London and mix with all the right people. But Lily has a secret. Something from her past, that is soon to collide with her present. And she thinks her new husband is hiding something too... The vows they made will soon be tested to the very limits. 'Till death us do part...' Perfect for readers of Liane Moriarty and Clare Mackintosh, lose yourself in the twist-filled story that everyone's talking about.




My Husband's Wife is a novel of two halves.

When Lily meets Ed Macdonald at a party, it seems her life is finally able to begin and she is able to leave her past behind. After a whirlwind romance the couple marry and Lily starts work on a new case as a lawyer and Ed continues to pursue his passion for art alongside his day job as ...

The speed of their romance soon becomes apparent as cracks begin to show in their new marriage. Lily's work on the important case makes Ed feel sidelined...

Then the little girl from the flat across the way appears in their lives in a whirlwind of activity and gives them a perfect distraction from each other.

As Lily's work becomes more involved and high profile she spends less time with her husband at home and more time in prison with the offender that she is trying to get released on appeal, and in the courtroom with her more experienced legal colleague who is assisting the case.

Soon their time spent with Carla on a Sunday is the only time Lily and Ed have together, but even then Lily is working, and Ed is sketching the little girl, hoping to submit his work to a local art competition.

Fast forward fifteen years and Carla is returning to the UK having moved back to Italy with her Mother shortly after meeting the Macdonalds. Carla is determined to follow in Lily's footsteps and has enrolled at with the view to obtaining a conversion to her Italian law degree in London

But is soon becomes clear that it is not only Lily's career that Carla is after.

What follows is a chain of event that no one could have predicted, least of all, the parties involved...

I can't say much more without giving anything away, but this is a brilliant novel, a fantastic debut, and I can't wait to read more from this author.

My Husband's Wife is available from 25 August 2016.
 
You can pre-order it now via Amazon online.
 
Thank You to the publisher who approved my request via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

No comments:

Post a comment